UGX-Mods Login

or login with an authentication provider below
Sign In with Google
Sign In with Twitter
Sign In with Discord
Sign In with Steam
Sign In with Facebook
Sign In with Twitch

Fixing lighting/sun in a new map

HOT
broken avatar :(
Created 8 years ago
by BluntStuffy
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
22,806 views
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nlApeldoorn
Date Registered: 17 December 2013
Last active: 1 year ago
Posts
1,187
Respect
1,404Add +1
Forum Rank
Zombie Colossus
Primary Group
Community Scripter Elite
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
It aint much, if it aint Dutch
Signature
×
BluntStuffy's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
Community Scripter Elite Has shown excellence and experience in the area of custom scripting in the UGX-Mods community.
Oil Rig Beta Access
Oil Rig Beta Access
BluntStuffy's Contact & Social LinksBluntStuffyBluntstuffy@BluntZombieStuffyZombie
EDIT, propper fix:

If you have no skybox/shitty lighting in your new created map, no fire sounds and weird zombie anims this seems to be the fix:

Change the decimal symbol for windows. change it from , to . it's in your Country & Language options. Then reinstall the mod-tools and everything should work propperly.

Last Edit: October 26, 2016, 09:34:40 pm by BluntStuffy
broken avatar :(
  • steviewonder87
  • Deleted Member
×
broken avatar :(
steviewonder87
This user is deleted :(
Nice tut, shame you didn't get the tools earlier, I'm sure you could have already done some great things with them by now. You're obviously catching on fast though :P
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nlApeldoorn
Date Registered: 17 December 2013
Last active: 1 year ago
Posts
1,187
Respect
1,404Add +1
Forum Rank
Zombie Colossus
Primary Group
Community Scripter Elite
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
It aint much, if it aint Dutch
×
BluntStuffy's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
Community Scripter Elite Has shown excellence and experience in the area of custom scripting in the UGX-Mods community.
Oil Rig Beta Access
Oil Rig Beta Access
BluntStuffy's Contact & Social LinksBluntStuffyBluntstuffy@BluntZombieStuffyZombie
Haha, well this was pretty much laid out for me. Like i mentioned this is also described in some .pdf's included with the tools. Just a matter of taking the time to look through stuff..
I dont think i'll be doing anything too crazy anytime soon, want to finish up the Realism Mod first. I'll just be messing around in BO3 a bit while doing so
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: us
Date Registered: 16 December 2014
Last active: 5 years ago
Posts
9
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
×
Mineturtle's Groups
Mineturtle's Contact & Social Links
That skybox doesn't exist.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nl
Date Registered: 28 September 2013
Last active: 5 years ago
Posts
8
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
×
iiNiels's Groups
iiNiels's Contact & Social Links
Note: all this is described in \root\docs_modtools\SunSky_Light_SetUp.pdf

If you have no skybox/shitty lighting in your new created map, this is how you fix it:

-Open APE
-Create a new GDT if you'd like

Now we can start:

-Choose "New asset" and a popup-box will appear
-Asset Name, name it whatever you like. Asset type: SSI and choose the GDT you want to create it in
-You can mess with the settings, use these if you want to be safe:
(Image removed from quote.)

-Next, create a "new asset" again. Again name it whatever, and this time choose "image"
-Use these settings, you can use any .exr image you like ( i found some in \model_export\t7_skybox\  for example )
(Image removed from quote.)

-Next create a new asset again, this time choose type "material"
-Use these settings, and for the color_map use the image you created in the previous step
(Image removed from quote.)

-Now again create a new asset, and this time choose "xmodel"
-Use these settings, under LOD 0 fill in a skybox model ( t6_props\vista\skybox\t6_skybox.xmodel_bin for example ) and under Materials fill in the material you made in the previous step
(Image removed from quote.)


-Now go back to the SSI ( first asset we made ), and fill in the skybox you created under 'skybox model'
-Now open Radiant, select the sun-volume and where it says SSI 1 you enter your newly created SSI.

-Export lights, link, and run map ( dont expect anything fancy looking, but at least you got normal lighting now.. )


k so i am new to the modding scene, idk why i even have to do this cuz everything worked fine for my friend. but i dont get it. i added u on skype and send u a tweet on twitter. please help me there
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nlArnhem
Date Registered: 18 March 2015
Last active: 7 years ago
Posts
7
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
Signature
×
lootjekadootje's Contact & Social LinksLootje
Thank you
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: gbIsle of Man
Date Registered: 17 July 2013
Last active: 4 years ago
Posts
536
Respect
Forum Rank
Zombie Enslaver
Primary Group
Donator ♥
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
- It was a clear black night, a clear white moon -
Signature
<3

AnimalLover

Aranda
Aldenrade
Christmas

<3

×
animallover's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
********************************************************************************
UNRECOVERABLE ERROR:
  LoadFx: no fxdef specified for fx placed in Radiant

Linker will now terminate.
********************************************************************************


Still cant fix this please help :(
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nlApeldoorn
Date Registered: 17 December 2013
Last active: 1 year ago
Posts
1,187
Respect
1,404Add +1
Forum Rank
Zombie Colossus
Primary Group
Community Scripter Elite
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
It aint much, if it aint Dutch
×
BluntStuffy's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
Community Scripter Elite Has shown excellence and experience in the area of custom scripting in the UGX-Mods community.
Oil Rig Beta Access
Oil Rig Beta Access
BluntStuffy's Contact & Social LinksBluntStuffyBluntstuffy@BluntZombieStuffyZombie
That skybox doesn't exist.

The one in the pics doesn't exist for me either, that's why i put this in the description:

Quote
...under LOD 0 fill in a skybox model ( t6_props\vista\skybox\t6_skybox.xmodel_bin for example
that one does exist for me
(if you mean the skybox in the first pic, just ignore that. Leave that blank, and follow the 'tut'. At the end you make a skybox to put in there. btw tut is now changed.. )




k so i am new to the modding scene, idk why i even have to do this cuz everything worked fine for my friend. but i dont get it. i added u on skype and send u a tweet on twitter. please help me there

idk why you have to do it, and others dont. Other people get errors i dont get and vice versa..
It's not that hard, just follow the steps.. no need for me to hold your hand allong the way.

If it doesn't work it might be another issue, i know this solved it for me though..


Thank you

 :) np, so it worked for you?


********************************************************************************
UNRECOVERABLE ERROR:
  LoadFx: no fxdef specified for fx placed in Radiant

Linker will now terminate.
********************************************************************************


Still cant fix this please help :(

Doesn't look like anything related to this, but if i read the error you placed an FX in radiant without specifying anything? ( like in waw when you placed a model, and pressed esc and the big PWND model would show up ). Look for the fx and delete it, or just start a new map if it's just the test map..



Changed to use a stock skybox, so you only have to create one asset now. Left the old method in the spoiler..
Last Edit: September 28, 2016, 09:06:50 pm by BluntStuffy
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nlArnhem
Date Registered: 18 March 2015
Last active: 7 years ago
Posts
7
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
lootjekadootje's Contact & Social LinksLootje
Well it did the trick in radiant. But ingame it is still bugged. Everything is white except when u stand in the shadows.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: us
Date Registered: 16 December 2014
Last active: 5 years ago
Posts
9
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
×
Mineturtle's Groups
Mineturtle's Contact & Social Links
Ah sorry mate, I found out earlier, but I can't edit posts yet. Thanks for this though.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: gbIsle of Man
Date Registered: 17 July 2013
Last active: 4 years ago
Posts
536
Respect
Forum Rank
Zombie Enslaver
Primary Group
Donator ♥
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
- It was a clear black night, a clear white moon -
×
animallover's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
i removed all fx's and still same error...  :(
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nlNederland
Date Registered: 14 August 2013
Last active: 8 years ago
Posts
50
Respect
Forum Rank
Rotting Walker
Primary Group
Member
Personal Quote
Wassaaap
Signature
×
WhiteDevil's Groups
WhiteDevil's Contact & Social Links
Instead of having weird ass flickering lightning ingame, after following your steps it looks like this..


This is how it looks ingame:

I'm doing something very wrong i guess :-\
Last Edit: September 29, 2016, 03:11:01 pm by WhiteDevil
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: at
Date Registered: 24 January 2014
Last active: 3 years ago
Posts
2
Respect
Forum Rank
Fresh Corpse
Primary Group
Member
×
Beatthat's Groups
Beatthat's Contact & Social Links
Thanks atleast i have better lighting now cause the only skybox that worked for me was zm_factory and it's way too dark.

Would anyone happen to know why this happens?

Another question, does anyone else have no fire sound and "glitchy" looking zombie walking anims?
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: brVit
Date Registered: 26 November 2013
Last active: 7 years ago
Posts
51
Respect
Forum Rank
Rotting Walker
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
I'm a 14 year old mapper trying to make good maps.
×
gabriex555's Groups
gabriex555's Contact & Social Linksgabriex555gabriex555gabriex555gabriex555gabriex555
Another question, does anyone else have no fire sound and "glitchy" looking zombie walking anims?

YES, anyone know what's up with that/how to fix it?
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: it
Date Registered: 5 September 2014
Last active: 3 years ago
Posts
282
Respect
Forum Rank
Mr. Elemental
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
I belive purple is getting me...
×
IperBreach86's Groups
IperBreach86's Contact & Social LinksIperBreach86
YES, anyone know what's up with that/how to fix it?
wait till 3arch fixes it.

 
Loading ...