How can i add snow or rain to my map? Help Please

broken avatar :(
Created 1372 days ago
by dondogs123
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
5,101 views
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: gbLondon
Date Registered: 22 July 2013
Last active: 713 days ago
Posts
14
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
I need some help on how to add snow to my map, any help will be very much appreciated.

Thank you
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: caBrandon
Date Registered: 19 February 2015
Last active: 1240 days ago
Posts
12
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
Poyuma's Groups
The way I have been doing has been with using multiple snow 'fx' in the fx Browser.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: us
Date Registered: 22 April 2015
Last active: 1141 days ago
Posts
40
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Donator ♥
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
Level Designer
×
Taven's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
Taven's Contact & Social LinkskingTavenkingTaven_Taven_TavenDevMy Site
Can do it in scripts or be lazy like me and just do a ton of FX from the FX browser (not ideal)
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
RadihaX
Location: caCanada
Date Registered: 2 September 2012
Last active: 57 days ago
Posts
978
Respect
Forum Rank
The Decider
Primary Group
Community Mapper Elite
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Signature
Overrun
Lockdown
Overrun (Black Ops Mod)
Snowglobe
Leviathan
Abandoned School
Ski Resort
Leviathan Redux
×
JBird632's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
UGX V.I.P.
UGX V.I.P.
Community Mapper Elite Has shown excellence and experience in the area of custom mapping in the UGX-Mods community.
Community Scripter Elite Has shown excellence and experience in the area of custom scripting in the UGX-Mods community.
BO3 Modtools Alpha
BO3 Modtools Alpha
This user has access to the Black Ops 3 Modtools Alpha
JBird632's Contact & Social LinksJBird632JBird632JBird632JBird632JBird632Mapper
Ya the most optimized way to do it would be to do a client script, where each player plays the snow fx on the players origin. This is ideal so the snow isn't being played at every point of the map and only at the player's location which will allow for higher frame rate.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: gbLondon
Date Registered: 22 July 2013
Last active: 713 days ago
Posts
14
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
Any idea on how i could do that? :S
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: us
Date Registered: 12 September 2016
Last active: 159 days ago
Posts
306
Respect
Forum Rank
Perk Hacker
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
reckfullies's Groups
reckfullies's Contact & Social LinksReckfulliesReckfullies
Any idea on how i could do that? :S

Get the players origin and play an fx on it. You would need to mess around like making it only do it when they are outside but I'm not going to figure out a way for you since I'm not using this method.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nl
Date Registered: 21 March 2016
Last active: 1145 days ago
Posts
14
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
×
ItsJasonn's Groups
ItsJasonn's Contact & Social Links
Ya the most optimized way to do it would be to do a client script, where each player plays the snow fx on the players origin. This is ideal so the snow isn't being played at every point of the map and only at the player's location which will allow for higher frame rate.

Maybe an idea for a new tutorial episode? :)
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nzChristchurch
Date Registered: 8 June 2014
Last active: 806 days ago
Posts
77
Respect
Forum Rank
Rotting Walker
Primary Group
Donator ♥
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
Can I do this?
Signature
My [You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]
My [You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]
×
IDontEvenKnow's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
Maybe an idea for a new tutorial episode? :)

Main, this will fire when someone spawns
callback::on_spawned( &on_player_spawned );

Then in the same file
function on_player_spawned()
{
self PlayFX(<fx name>, self.origin);
}

You might have to get the origin of the player another way as I am not sure if they have an origin property.

If that fails, try
function on_player_spawned()
{
self PlayFX(<fx name>, GetOrigin(self);
}

You will probably have to precache the fx you're using so you'd do this, put it up with all the #using directives.
#precache( "fx", "<fx name>" );
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nl
Date Registered: 21 March 2016
Last active: 1145 days ago
Posts
14
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
×
ItsJasonn's Groups
ItsJasonn's Contact & Social Links
But what if the player is not outside. Will the FX still show?
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: us
Date Registered: 12 September 2016
Last active: 159 days ago
Posts
306
Respect
Forum Rank
Perk Hacker
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
reckfullies's Groups
reckfullies's Contact & Social LinksReckfulliesReckfullies
But what if the player is not outside. Will the FX still show?

Yes, it will. I suppose you could setup a way to detect when a player is inside by either having a volume that can detect it or some other way. Either way it seems like it would be kind of complicated to someone not competent in scripting for this game.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nzChristchurch
Date Registered: 8 June 2014
Last active: 806 days ago
Posts
77
Respect
Forum Rank
Rotting Walker
Primary Group
Donator ♥
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
Can I do this?
×
IDontEvenKnow's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
But what if the player is not outside. Will the FX still show?

Put a trigger_touch around the map, then put a
waittill("triggered",who");

 

Login

or login with an authentication provider below
Sign In with Google
Sign In with Twitter
Sign In with Discord
Sign In with Steam
Sign In with Facebook
Sign In with Twitch
Loading ...