Unused HDMI and VGA outputs - can they be used?

broken avatar :(
Created 2009 days ago
by daedra descent
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
1,911 views
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
☭ Soviet Commander ☭
Location: us
Date Registered: 13 August 2012
Last active: 1209 days ago
Posts
2,794
Respect
Forum Rank
King of the Zombies
Primary Group
Community Daedra
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Signature
Let's keep this thread on topic from here on in. -DBZ

+1 to off-topic reply -DBZ

lmao. Too funny.

Goliath Script Placer: http://ugx-mods.com/forum/index.php/topic,11234.msg125257/topicseen.html#new

"...Christ, people. Learn C, instead of just stringing random characters
together until it compiles (with warnings)..."

-Linus Torvalds
×
daedra descent's Groups
Community Daedra
Community Daedra
daedra descent's Contact & Social LinksBlueSoviet
Title mostly says it all. I found a HDMI and VGA ports under a "This part is unused" sticker(HDMI) and a "Do Not Open" cap(VGA), and was wondering if they could actually be used(despite what the stickers say).
Last Edit: April 17, 2014, 10:44:26 pm by daedra descent
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
[UGX] Founder
Location: usBay Area, California
Date Registered: 24 June 2011
Last active: 71 days ago
Posts
5,545
Respect
6,493Add +1
Forum Rank
Immortal
Primary Group
UGX Administrator
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Signature
If Java had true garbage collection, most programs would delete themselves upon execution.
×
treminaor's Groups
UGX Administrator
UGX Team Member
UGX Site Moderator Has the ability to issue warnings to users, edit and remove posts from the forum and to move topics to other boards. Upholds the rules of the forum. Moderates Chat Rooms.
Title mostly says it all. I found a HDMI and VGA ports under a "This part is unused" sticker(HDMI) and a "Do Not Open" cap(VGA), and was wondering if they could actually be used(despite what the stickers say).
you might be able to do dual monitors but if they had stickers over them it usually means only one can be used at a time.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
☭ Soviet Commander ☭
Location: us
Date Registered: 13 August 2012
Last active: 1209 days ago
Posts
2,794
Respect
Forum Rank
King of the Zombies
Primary Group
Community Daedra
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
daedra descent's Groups
Community Daedra
Community Daedra
daedra descent's Contact & Social LinksBlueSoviet
you might be able to do dual monitors but if they had stickers over them it usually means only one can be used at a time.

Well the VGA output that i'm currently using is connected to the GPU, while the external one is connected directly to the motherboard, does that make a difference? What would happen if i tried using both of them?
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
[UGX] Founder
Location: usBay Area, California
Date Registered: 24 June 2011
Last active: 71 days ago
Posts
5,545
Respect
6,493Add +1
Forum Rank
Immortal
Primary Group
UGX Administrator
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
treminaor's Groups
UGX Administrator
UGX Team Member
UGX Site Moderator Has the ability to issue warnings to users, edit and remove posts from the forum and to move topics to other boards. Upholds the rules of the forum. Moderates Chat Rooms.
Well the VGA output that i'm currently using is connected to the GPU, while the external one is connected directly to the motherboard, does that make a difference? What would happen if i tried using both of them?
You may have to enable the VGA port in the BIOS since its the onboard gpu - and if its enabled you can use it as a second output.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
☭ Soviet Commander ☭
Location: us
Date Registered: 13 August 2012
Last active: 1209 days ago
Posts
2,794
Respect
Forum Rank
King of the Zombies
Primary Group
Community Daedra
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
daedra descent's Groups
Community Daedra
Community Daedra
daedra descent's Contact & Social LinksBlueSoviet
You may have to enable the VGA port in the BIOS since its the onboard gpu - and if its enabled you can use it as a second output.

Just took a look in the BIOS and i couldn't find an option for enabling/disabling an integrated GPU. Could it be possible that it doesn't have one?
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
[UGX] Founder
Location: usBay Area, California
Date Registered: 24 June 2011
Last active: 71 days ago
Posts
5,545
Respect
6,493Add +1
Forum Rank
Immortal
Primary Group
UGX Administrator
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
treminaor's Groups
UGX Administrator
UGX Team Member
UGX Site Moderator Has the ability to issue warnings to users, edit and remove posts from the forum and to move topics to other boards. Upholds the rules of the forum. Moderates Chat Rooms.
Just took a look in the BIOS and i couldn't find an option for enabling/disabling an integrated GPU. Could it be possible that it doesn't have one?
If you see the VGA port physically connected to the board inside then I would be 99% sure it has one, otherwise they wouldnt have put the ports there. Have you tried using it?
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: ca
Date Registered: 13 August 2013
Last active: 553 days ago
Posts
139
Respect
Forum Rank
Pack-a-Puncher
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
Signature
Treyarch u got nothin on UGX.
×
MistaC4's Groups
MistaC4's Contact & Social Linksmistac4mistac4MistaC4CrazzyGuitarPlayer
Wait am i reading this correctly but do you want a external gpu???
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
☭ Soviet Commander ☭
Location: us
Date Registered: 13 August 2012
Last active: 1209 days ago
Posts
2,794
Respect
Forum Rank
King of the Zombies
Primary Group
Community Daedra
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
daedra descent's Groups
Community Daedra
Community Daedra
daedra descent's Contact & Social LinksBlueSoviet
Wait am i reading this correctly but do you want a external gpu???

Ha, no. I have an ATI 7350 GPU.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
The Voice in your Eyes
Location: deBavaria
Date Registered: 26 June 2013
Last active: 7 hours ago
Posts
830
Respect
Forum Rank
The Decider
Primary Group
Community Mapper
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
Who is Amanda?
Signature
[You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]

Untergrund [You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them] Evangelion 2 ½
×
Alerion's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
Community Mapper Has released one or more maps to the UGX-Mods community which have been added to the UGX Map Manager.
I accidentally used the on-board vga multiple times. It did technically work but the monitor wasn't able to use the external gpu. Maybe it's possible to change that in the bios settings, but I never tried because my gpu has two.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
☭ Soviet Commander ☭
Location: us
Date Registered: 13 August 2012
Last active: 1209 days ago
Posts
2,794
Respect
Forum Rank
King of the Zombies
Primary Group
Community Daedra
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
daedra descent's Groups
Community Daedra
Community Daedra
daedra descent's Contact & Social LinksBlueSoviet
I accidentally used the on-board vga multiple times. It did technically work but the monitor wasn't able to use the external gpu. Maybe it's possible to change that in the bios settings, but I never tried because my gpu has two.

Well, the only thing that i could find in the BIOS was things like Intel Turbo which i assume if for my CPU and not my GPU.

if it helps any, my computer is an ASPIRE M3970G.

 

Login

or login with an authentication provider below
Sign In with Google
Sign In with Twitter
Sign In with Discord
Sign In with Steam
Sign In with Twitch
Loading ...