UGX-Mods Login

or login with an authentication provider below
Sign In with Google
Sign In with Twitter
Sign In with Discord
Sign In with Steam
Sign In with Facebook
Sign In with Twitch

[Tutorial] Making Zones - The right way

broken avatar :(
Created 8 years ago
by reckfullies
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
11,380 views
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: us
Date Registered: 12 September 2016
Last active: 3 years ago
Posts
306
Respect
Forum Rank
Perk Hacker
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
reckfullies's Groups
reckfullies's Contact & Social LinksReckfulliesReckfullies
This tutorial will show how to add zones in radiant black edition since i've seen many people having the instant death problem.

Step 1 - In radiant, open the "Entity Browser" window and select "Info" then select "volume" and drag it into your map.

Step 2 - Resize the volume to fit your entire playable area inside of it.

Step 3 - Select the volume and press N on your keyboard to open the "Entity Info" window.

Step 4 - Find the property "targetname" and change the value to "start_zone".

Step 5 - Click the "Add KVP" button in the bottom right of the "Entity Info" window.

Step 6 - Put "target" in the Property/Key box and put "start_zone_spawners" in the Value box and press "Add".

Step 7 - Click the "Add KVP" button again.

Step 8 - Put "script_noteworthy" in the Property/Key box and put "player_volume" in the Value box and press "Add".

There you go, now you won't instantly die and get a game over when starting the map.

You can also add windows, zombie spawners and risers to this zone by following the tutorial Here.

UPDATE:
If you are interested in adding adjacent zones like you could in world at war follow these steps.

Step 1 - Naviagte to "Black Ops 3/usermaps/zm_mapname/scripts/zm/zm_mapname.gsc" inside "steamapps/common".

Step 2 - Find
Code Snippet
Plaintext
function usermap_test_zone_init()
{
level flag::init( "always_on" );
level flag::set( "always_on" );
}

Step 3 - Replace
Code Snippet
Plaintext
level flag::init( "always_on" );
level flag::set( "always_on" );
with
Code Snippet
Plaintext
zm_zonemgr::add_adjacent_zone("start_zone", "zone1", "enter_zone1" );

Step 4 - For every new adjacent zone you add make sure to change the "start_zone", "zone_1" and "enter_zone1" to your zone names.

EDIT:
- Note: If you are using zones that are not linked(For my case I have a teleporter that goes to non touching zones) I found that it will still kill you for not being in a zone if you do not do this step!

If you are stuff having trouble with dying when entering new zones add this code to your main function in usermaps/zm_mapname/scripts/zm/zm_mapname.gsc:
Code Snippet
Plaintext
init_zones[1] = "yourzonename";

then just up the number by 1 every time you add a new zone, I have been told this is not required however for some people it does not work without this.
Last Edit: October 13, 2016, 06:56:59 pm by reckfullies
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: nlApeldoorn
Date Registered: 17 December 2013
Last active: 1 year ago
Posts
1,187
Respect
1,404Add +1
Forum Rank
Zombie Colossus
Primary Group
Community Scripter Elite
My Groups
More
My Contact & Social Links
More
Personal Quote
It aint much, if it aint Dutch
Signature
×
BluntStuffy's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
Community Scripter Elite Has shown excellence and experience in the area of custom scripting in the UGX-Mods community.
Oil Rig Beta Access
Oil Rig Beta Access
BluntStuffy's Contact & Social LinksBluntstuffy@BluntZombieBluntStuffyStuffyZombie
uhm, all zones you place here:

Spoiler: click to open...
Code Snippet
Plaintext
//Setup the levels Zombie Zone Volumes
level.zones = [];
level.zone_manager_init_func =&usermap_test_zone_init;
init_zones[0] = "start_zone";
level thread zm_zonemgr::manage_zones( init_zones );

Step 3 - Add

Code Snippet
Plaintext
init_zones[1] = "yourzonename";

under

Code Snippet
Plaintext
init_zones[0] = "start_zone";

Step 4 - If you want to add more than 2 zones just keep adding 1 to the number here: init_zones[0]

are going to be active from when the map starts, you only put your start-zone there and:


And you want to delete this:

Code Snippet
Plaintext
	level flag::init( "always_on" );
level flag::set( "always_on" );


and replace them with these lines for your zones:
Code Snippet
Plaintext
zm_zonemgr::add_adjacent_zone("start_zone", "zone1", "enter_zone1" );


broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: us
Date Registered: 12 September 2016
Last active: 3 years ago
Posts
306
Respect
Forum Rank
Perk Hacker
Primary Group
Member
My Contact & Social Links
More
×
reckfullies's Groups
reckfullies's Contact & Social LinksReckfulliesReckfullies
uhm, all zones you place here:

Spoiler: click to open...
Code Snippet
Plaintext
//Setup the levels Zombie Zone Volumes
level.zones = [];
level.zone_manager_init_func =&usermap_test_zone_init;
init_zones[0] = "start_zone";
level thread zm_zonemgr::manage_zones( init_zones );

Step 3 - Add

Code Snippet
Plaintext
init_zones[1] = "yourzonename";

under

Code Snippet
Plaintext
init_zones[0] = "start_zone";

Step 4 - If you want to add more than 2 zones just keep adding 1 to the number here: init_zones[0]

are going to be active from when the map starts, you only put your start-zone there and:


And you want to delete this:

Code Snippet
Plaintext
	level flag::init( "always_on" );
level flag::set( "always_on" );


and replace them with these lines for your zones:
Code Snippet
Plaintext
zm_zonemgr::add_adjacent_zone("start_zone", "zone1", "enter_zone1" );


The only reason I put the initial_zones there was because it wasn't working for someone then when they added that it worked so I wasn't sure if it was needed, thanks for letting me know.

As for everything else, ill update the post to include correct information.
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: england
Date Registered: 1 September 2016
Last active: 7 years ago
Posts
4
Respect
Forum Rank
Fresh Corpse
Primary Group
Member
×
Themotogamer's Groups
Themotogamer's Contact & Social Links
someone help me ive put in 4 zones and have them working fine apart from I cant get zombie to spawn in zones 2,3and 4 they only spawn in my start zone any ideas?

http://ugx-mods.com/forum/index.php/topic,14542.0.html
Last Edit: January 09, 2017, 10:42:17 am by Sidzzz
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: es
Date Registered: 16 February 2014
Last active: 7 years ago
Posts
7
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Donator ♥
My Groups
More
×
bengpab's Groups
Donator ♥ Benevolent Soul who has our eternal gratitude and exclusive access to betas and the donator section of the forum.
bengpab's Contact & Social Links
I have more than one entrance to some zones and I can't get them to work because either zombies spawn before I open the door or they don't spawn at all.

Any idea?
broken avatar :(
×
broken avatar :(
Location: ca
Date Registered: 5 April 2016
Last active: 6 years ago
Posts
8
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
Member
×
BROSEPH123's Groups
BROSEPH123's Contact & Social Links
I hooked up the KVP's properly and added the script calling zonemgr and it continues to kill the player. Any ideas on troubleshooting?

 
Loading ...