Last active: 11 years ago
Respect
Forum Rank
Legless Crawler
Primary Group
1lion's Groups
1lion's Contact & Social Links
Good day, all,

I am a automation software developer with quite a bit of experience with C/C++, Java, VB, .NET, *snooze...rambles on...*  In any case, I am fairly new to the world of modding.  I was approached by a coworker who plays CoD: BlOps and has a friend who hosts a server with a mod on it and wanted to make additions and changes to it, but did not have the means.  So they decided to ask me to help. 

I am always hungry for programming projects, but didn't realize how much of a task this would end up being.  I got started and saw that there "isn't much to modding CoD: BO" since they released Mod Tools for it (of course I had to first learn what mod tools was all about.)  I learned quite a bit in the past few weeks by watching tutorials and making minor mods for BO.  There are still many things that I have questions about and I started posting in forums to try to find answers (well, I posted on 2 forums, the community.cod one and itsmods.)  I found that the language used in the BO script files is not well documented.  I've been spoiled with structured programming languages that are documented very well (APIs, MSDN, etc), and haven't had to figure things out on my own for quite some time.

In any case, I would like to call myself a quick learner.  I have already been able to accomplish much of what I have been asked about and still want to keep learning more so that I can do more.  I don't have as much time to devote to side projects like this, but have already managed to write a program that reads all of the gsc files and grabs the functions, tracks the bodies, returns, includes for the files, and I'm working on creating my own API (of course to share).

So my invite is for any resources that can help me learn more about modding for BO using MOD Tools.  Specific topics:

• Detecting events and triggering custom functions (callbacks)