Date Registered: 27 January 2017
Last active: 4 years ago
Respect
Forum Rank
Fresh Corpse
Primary Group
Beceris's Groups
Beceris's Contact & Social Links
Hi, I'm still learning gsc scripting and I keep seeing the REGISTER_SYSTEM line around. I'm not completely new to coding but I can't figure out what this line actually doing. I was just hoping someone could shine some light on this one for me.

Example Use from _zm_perk_staminup.gsc:

Code Snippet
Plaintext
REGISTER_SYSTEM( "zm_perk_staminup", &__init__, undefined )

My only guess so far about what this is doing is that it's creating a singleton/ static instance of the class with the arguments being (string the same as the namespace, pointer to the constructor, ???).
Marked as best answer by Beceris 7 years ago
broken avatar :(
Date Registered: 22 February 2013
Last active: 6 years ago
Respect
Forum Rank
Pack-a-Puncher
Primary Group
Community Scripter
My Groups
More
Personal Quote
Every map needs a Panzer Soldat
Signature
HexPieRadiBirds Magical Fun Time Water Hole
AwesomePieMan's Groups
Community Scripter Has shown effort and knowledge in the area of scripting while being a part of the UGX-Mods community.
BO3 Modtools Alpha
BO3 Modtools Alpha
This user has access to the Black Ops 3 Modtools Alpha
AwesomePieMan's Contact & Social Links
I looked through the code for documentation, here is what I found (In scripts/shared system_shared.gsc)

Code Snippet
Plaintext
/*///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Usage:

REGISTER_SYSTEM( <system_name>, <preload_function>, <postload_function>, <pre-reqs> )

system_name: Name of the system.  To avoid confusion, this typically should match the namespace
that the system is in.

preload_function: This function will automatically run during the pre initializion of a level load - this
will be during the first frame, during the level load phase (before _load::main)