UGX-Mods

Everything Else => Media => Topic started by: CyberMan1011 on September 14, 2014, 12:07:30 am

Title: USB Turntable recommendations?
Post by: CyberMan1011 on September 14, 2014, 12:07:30 am
I recently bought two vinyl records and I'm planning on buying a USB turntable so I could connect it to my computer, record the vinyl records, and save the recorded music as separate MP3 files.

I'm having trouble trying to find which one I should buy, though.

I'm kinda new to this turntable stuff, so I don't really know which turntable is suitable for me to purchase. I'm looking for one that isn't too expensive (below $500, but if you have a recommendation that's above $500 and you really want to recommend it to me, go ahead) and one that can record the music to my computer in 320kbps/FLAC without losing any quality in the transferred music at all.

Any recommendations?
Title: Re: USB Turntable recommendations?
Post by: treminaor on September 14, 2014, 01:02:48 am
Don't buy a USB turntable. They are not the best way to record audio from vinyl and they are also not the best quality turntables to begin with until you spend a lot of unnecessary extra money. Most USB turntables are bad enough that they'll end up ruing your vinyl over time because of the tracking force on the needle and the low quality of the needle itself.

Transferring the music to your computer will be pointless unless you do 16 or 24bit lossless FLAC audio - so unless you have a 16/24bit soundcard and software capable of this you'll be wasting your time anyway because a FLAC CD rip will sound better.