Author Topic: [SOLVED] I have a lighting glitch  (Read 361 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Swag_Chesse_xo1

  • - Original Poster (OP) -
  • Rotting Walker
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: us
  • Respect: 20
  • lol
    • o0JayWolf0o
    • View Profile
  • CoD: WaW: LordSpaceCat

I have a lighting glitch

« on: March 10, 2018, 10:12:02 am »
My sun isn't working and neither are lights. If I change the brightness of the sun or lights, only my perks and sky model get brighter.   
            With the Sun:  [You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]           [You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]

            Without the Sun:  [You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]       [You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]

This topic contains a post which is marked as the Best Answer. Click here to view it.

Offline Swag_Chesse_xo1

  • - Original Poster (OP) -
  • Rotting Walker
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: us
  • Respect: 20
  • lol
    • o0JayWolf0o
    • View Profile
  • CoD: WaW: LordSpaceCat

Re: I have a lighting glitch

« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2018, 07:34:12 am »
I meant Primary Lights*

Offline StupidEdits

  • Pack-a-Puncher
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: us
  • Respect: 38
  • Current project: Afterlife
    • StupidEdits
    • StupidsEdits' Twitter Feed
    • StupidEdits's YouTube Channel
    • View Profile
  • Skype: skype:Habbofier11?chat

Re: I have a lighting glitch

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2018, 09:31:38 am »
You can change the direction of the sunlight in Radiant by going to Edit > Sun Info. Make sure you have sunlight preview enabled under View > Light Preview > Preview Sun as well, or you won't be able to see the changes / difference while editing the direction.

Also make sure you have everything properly setup for your map lighting/shadow wise:
[You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]
[You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]
[You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]

As for primary lights not working I don't remember exactly, what are your settings for the lights not working.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2018, 09:38:08 am by StupidEdits »
"The only time you should look back, is to see how far you've come."

Offline Swag_Chesse_xo1

  • - Original Poster (OP) -
  • Rotting Walker
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: us
  • Respect: 20
  • lol
    • o0JayWolf0o
    • View Profile
  • CoD: WaW: LordSpaceCat

Re: I have a lighting glitch

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2018, 04:15:03 pm »
I just changed a few settings to match Der Riese's sun and the preview looks great but when I load it, it looks like this: [You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]    Halp. :poker:

Offline TGMKTheII

  • Rotting Walker
  • Posts: 87
  • Country: 00
  • Respect: 14
  • Eating Doritos and making maps. LEAVE ME ALONE!
    • https://steamcommunity.co
    • View Profile

Re: I have a lighting glitch

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2018, 07:12:12 am »
I had a similar issue. Have you added a light grid volume? Have you added your skybox xmodel to your zone_source > mapname.gsc? Hollow caulk box? Hollow default brush with a sky texture?

From how you all blew something so small up, I can tell that you all are libtards.  Just worthless fucking libtards.
You went full retard man... never go full retard. :derp:

Offline Swag_Chesse_xo1

  • - Original Poster (OP) -
  • Rotting Walker
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: us
  • Respect: 20
  • lol
    • o0JayWolf0o
    • View Profile
  • CoD: WaW: LordSpaceCat

Re: I have a lighting glitch

« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2018, 12:49:50 pm »
I did everything but the Hollow Caulk Box and Hollow Sky Texture thing. How do I do it?

Offline TGMKTheII

  • Rotting Walker
  • Posts: 87
  • Country: 00
  • Respect: 14
  • Eating Doritos and making maps. LEAVE ME ALONE!
    • https://steamcommunity.co
    • View Profile

Re: I have a lighting glitch

« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2018, 05:37:06 am »
I did everything but the Hollow Caulk Box and Hollow Sky Texture thing. How do I do it?

Mine never worked without doing this.. go to textures, usage, all, select the checkered default texture and draw a brush around your map (preferably larger than the map) and on the top tools bar youll see a red box, you might have to look for it but it will say hollow. Select the brush and press that button.

Go to textures, usage, sky and select a sky similar to yours. If your map is dark, select a darker texture, if its light select one that's about as light as your skyboxmodel. Or if its available use your skyboxmodel texture.


My map worked fine after that but previously it didn't, not sure why lol but textures and lighting fixed itself. Have you also done a worldspawn? That helped me too. [You are not allowed to view external links. Register or Login to see them]

Marked as best answer by Swag_Chesse_xo1. [21/06/2018, 21:40:35]

Offline Swag_Chesse_xo1

  • - Original Poster (OP) -
  • Rotting Walker
  • Posts: 63
  • Country: us
  • Respect: 20
  • lol
    • o0JayWolf0o
    • View Profile
  • CoD: WaW: LordSpaceCat

Re: I have a lighting glitch

« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2018, 12:40:28 pm »
Mine never worked without doing this.. go to textures, usage, all, select the checkered default texture and draw a brush around your map (preferably larger than the map) and on the top tools bar youll see a red box, you might have to look for it but it will say hollow. Select the brush and press that button.

Go to textures, usage, sky and select a sky similar to yours. If your map is dark, select a darker texture, if its light select one that's about as light as your skyboxmodel. Or if its available use your skyboxmodel texture.




 Thank you, it finally worked!

Offline Scobalula

  • *
  • OnionmanVere Bo21
  • Zombie Destroyer
  • Posts: 1,855
  • Country: ie
  • Respect: 305
  • Alice
    • View Profile

Re: I have a lighting glitch

« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2018, 12:56:33 pm »
0/10
Aye mate you don't know me so y don't you shut tf up ok buddy :)


Offline TGMKTheII

  • Rotting Walker
  • Posts: 87
  • Country: 00
  • Respect: 14
  • Eating Doritos and making maps. LEAVE ME ALONE!
    • https://steamcommunity.co
    • View Profile

Re: I have a lighting glitch

« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2018, 01:07:25 pm »
Thank you, it finally worked!

;) No problem.